Provost's Awards

Provost's Award for Excellence Seal


The Provost's Awards were established in 1993 because outstanding teaching, research and service are central to the mission of Fresno State and because the dedication of our professorial faculty deserves special recognition.  Recipients of the Provost's Awards provide our students with a stimulating environment that fosters learning and affirms the university as the intellectual and cultural leader of the San Joaquin Valley.  The purpose of the Provost's Awards is to honor those faculty members who set new standards of excellence and represent the heart of this   great university.

Provost's Awards Recipients 2014-2015

Provost Zelezny is proud to announce the Provost’s Awards recipients for the 2014-2015 academic year.

 Excellence in Teaching

Anil Shrestha, Professor of Plant Science

 Faculty Service

Kevin J. Ayotte, Associate Professor of Communication

Kathryn Forbes, Associate Professor of Women’s Studies

 Research, Scholarship and Creative Accomplishment

Kenneth D. Froelich, Associate Professor of Music


Eric Person, Associate Professor of Chemistry

 Promising New Faculty

Monique L. Bell, Assistant Professor of Marketing

Mara Brady, Assistant Professor of Earth and Environmental Sciences

Lori Clune, Assistant Professor of History

Frederick L. Nelson, Assistant Professor of Curriculum and Instruction

Jes Therkelsen, Assistant Professor of Mass Communication and Journalism

Pei Xu, Assistant Professor of Agricultural Business

Please join us for a reception recognizing the distinguished achievements of our colleagues.

Provost’s Awards Reception

Date: Friday, May 8, 2015

Time:  3:00 – 5:30 p.m.

Location: North Gym #118

(Formal invitation to follow)