Faculty and Staff Mentoring Programs

*Applications for the 2018 - 19 cohort coming soon*

Mentor and protege discuss successes and challenges

As part of our commitment to leadership development for both academic and administrative personnel, Fresno State offers two mentor programs - one for faculty and one for staff. The offices of Faculty Affairs and Organizational Excellence collaborate with Dr. Kenneth Magdaleno from the Mentoring Center to coordinate these programs.   

Both programs are designed to provide mentoring, coaching, encouragement, leadership and professional career development for Fresno State aspiring leaders.

The faculty mentor program pairs seasoned campus academic leaders with faculty. The faculty program is open to faculty at any level from any school or college at Fresno State who are interested in serving in a leadership role on campus or in the community. The faculty program runs concurrently with mentor programs that exist in many of our schools and colleges. This will be the second cohort of the faculty mentor program. 

The staff mentor program pairs campus administrators with staff from across the university. This is the fifth year of the staff mentor program and will build upon successes and learnings from previous cohorts. 

Applications for both programs will be available soon. 


2017 - 18 Mentors:


2017-18 Staff Mentors 
Erin Boele, Director, University Courtyard; Interim Title IX Coordinator
Leticia Cano, Executive Director Advancement Services 
Devon Fullner, Interim Director Facilities Operations
Marcy Gatzman, Manager of Police Support Operations, Public Safety
Mike Garvey, Director Classroom Technologies, Operations and Networks
David Huerta, Chief of Police 
Nicole Lane, Director HR, Auxiliary Services
Malisa Lee, Associate Vice President Enrollment Services
Orlando Leon, CIO
Mitzi Lowe, Interim Associate Vice President Academic Advising 
Ken Magdaleno, Chair Educational Leadership; Direcotr Doctoral Progam in Educational Leadership 
Janell Morillo, Assistant Vice President Student Health Center
Stephen Robertello, Deputy Director Athletics
Diana Ralls, Chief of Staff 
Kathleen Scott, Director Organizational Excellence
Colin Stewart, Associate Dean for Student Involvement 
Debbie Young, Director, Career Development Center 
Lynnette Zelezny, Provost and VP for Academic Affairs 


2017-18 Faculty Mentors 
Honora Chapman, Assocate Dean, College of Arts and Humanities
Saul Jimenez-Sandoval, Dean College of Arts and Humanities 
Bernadette Muscat, Associate Dean College of Social Sciences
Jim Marshall, Dean, Research and Graduate Studies 
Dennis Nef, Vice Provost 
Ram Nunna, Dean, Lyles College of Engineering 
Kathie Reid-Bevington, Associate Dean, Jordan College of Agricultural Sciences and Technology 
Sandra Witte, Dean Jordan College of Agricultural Sciences and Technology 
Lynnette Zelezny, Provost and VP for Academic Affairs 

For more information please contact 278-5330.