Faculty and Staff

Name Email Role/Specialty Area Office Location Fall 2017 Office Hours
Brian Agbayani bagbayan@csufresno.edu
  • Department Chair
  • Syntactic theory
  • Comparative syntax
  • Syntax-phonology interface         
 PB 416  MWF 10 a.m.-noon
Denise Bissett denise_bissett@csufresno.edu Department Administrative Assistant Peters Business Bldg. 383  
Niken Adisasmito-Smith nadisasmito@csufresno.edu    PB 422  MW 3:10-4:10 p.m., F noon-1 p.m.
Barbara Birch nadisasmito@csufresno.edu 
  • English as a second language reading 
  • English grammar
  • Language attitude
  • Peace education                 
PB 420  Contact via email to set up a Skype appointment
John Boyle jboyle@csufresno.edu 
  • Syntactic Theory
  • Morphology
  • Typology
  • Morpho-syntax interface
  • Language documentation and revitalization
  • Language pedagogy
PB 417  MW by appointment, TTH 9:45-10:45 a.m. and 12:30-1:45 p.m.
Laura Burke  laurab@csufresno.edu    PB 422  T 1:45-3:15 p.m., W 10-11:30 a.m.
Jidong Chen jchen@csufresno.edu 
  • Graduate coordinator
  • First and second language acquisition
  • Event construal and event representation
  • Language and cognition                
PB 421  TTH 11:30-2 p.m.
Jaydene Elvin jaydene@mail.fresnostate.edu 
  • TESL
PB 414 MWF 3:30-4:30 p.m., F 12:30-1:30 p.m.
Kelsey Evans   kelseywithak@mail.fresnostate.edu    PB 418  MW 2-3 p.m.
Sean Fulop sfulop@csufresno.edu 
  • Cognitive Science Coordinator
  • Acoustic phonetics
  • Speech processing theory and methods
  • Computational linguistics theory
  • Mathematics of language
  • Mathematics and computation of learning
  • Web manager         
PB 423  MW noon-2 p.m.
Chris Golston chris_golston@csufresno.edu 
  • Phonetics/phonology
  • Poetic meter
  • Morphology/syntax
  • Historical linguistics
  • Evolution of language                
PB 424  MWF 11-11:50 a.m.
Tomoko Kozasa tkozasa@csufresno.edu
  • Japanese program coordinator,
 
PB 415  MTWTH 2:15-3:15 p.m., W 9:30-10:45 a.m.
Ellen Lipp ellen_lipp@csufresno.edu 
  • Second language writing
  • Second language reading
  • TESL/TEFL methodology
  • Curriculum design
  • Cultural issues in TESL/TEFL
  • Language program administration      
PB 419  Coming soon 
Cho Ly  cly@csufresno.edu    PB 412  TTH 12:30-1:30 p.m., TTH 4-5 p.m. virtual
Victoria Malko vmalko@csufresno.edu   PB 422 W noon-1 p.m., F 9 a.m.-noon
Li Mann  lmann@cufresno.edu    PB 418  TTH 3-4:50 p.m.
Vongsavanh Mouanoutoua  vomouanoutoua@csufresno.edu    PB 412  TTH 4:45-5:45 p.m.
Serina Nakazawa  gt5610nkzwjp@mail.fresnostate.edu    PB 415  Coming soon 
Nasir Rashid nrashid@csufresno.edu    PB 422  MTWTH 8:40-9 a.m., MW 1-1:50 p.m.
Kelly Schroeder  kschroeder@csufresno.edu    PB 412  TTH 5-6 p.m.
Miho Schweizer mschweizer@scufresno.edu    PB 415  W 11 a.m.-1 p.m., TH 3:40-4:40 p.m.
Nalee See nalees@csufresno.edu    PB 412  MW 6-7 p.m.
Chandra Shekar  chandras@csufresno.edu    IT 262  TTH 11 a.m.-noon
Michael Shepherd  mshepherd@csufresno.edu 
  • Sociolinguistics
  • Discourse analysis
PB 411  TTH 9:30-11 a.m.
John Simonian john@mail.fresnostate.edu    PB 415 TTH 3:30-4:45 p.m.
Negin Tahvildary  negin@csufresno.edu    MB 112  Coming soon 
Xinchun Wang  xinw@csufresno.edu 
  • Chinese program coordinator
  • Applied phonetics/experimental phonetics
  • Cross-linguistic speech perception and production
  • TESOL theory and methodology
  • Computer-assisted language learning (CALL)
  • Online teaching and learning
  • Chinese language instruction
PB 413  Coming soon 
Kao-Ly Yang  kayang@csufresno.edu 
  •  Hmong coordinator
PB 412  MWF 9-10 a.m., W 1:15-3:15 p.m.
Xinping Yu  xinpingyu@csufresno.edu    PB 418  MW 12:10-1:40 p.m.

Emeritus Faculty

Emeritus status is an honorary title awarded for distinguished service to the academic community. The President may bestow the title on a tenured faculty member or on an administrator who is entering permanent retirement and who has served the University with distinction. Bestowal of emeritus status is a distinctive honor, and emeriti faculty are regarded as an important and integral part of the university community.

* Denotes deceased

Frederick Brengelman (1957-1994) 

  • History of the English language
  • History of English linguistics
  • Language variation
  • email 

Edward Gammon (1966-1987) 

 

Jerry Hopkins (1964-1979)

 

Ritva Laury (1994-2007)

  • Discourse analysis
  • Functional syntax
  • Pragmatics
  • Language change
  • Finnish linguistics 

Gerald R. McMenamin (1980-2009) 

  • Analysis of linguistic variation
  • Stylistics
  • Spanish Linguistics
  • Corpus Linguistics
  • Forensic Linguistics
  • email

Karen Mistry

  • Language acquisition (first and second language and gender)
  • Applied linguistics (teaching of English grammar, spelling and reading)
  • Historical Linguistics (sub-Saharan languages especially southern African languages)
  • History of English
  • email

P. J. Mistry (1969-2004) *

  • Syntax
  • Indic Linguistics
  • Sanskrit 

Shigeko Okamoto (1998-2007)

  • Sociolinguistics
  • Japanese linguistics
  • Discourse analysis 

Vida Samiian (1984-2017)

  • Syntax
  • Persian language
  • email

Raymond S. Weitzman (1968-2001) * 

  •  Phonetics

Jack B. Zeldis (1969-2001)

  • Phonetics
  • Phonology
  • Syntax
  • Historical linguistics
  • Hebrew and Semitic linguistics