Faculty and Staff

The goal of the Department of Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures is to encourage multiculturalism and multilingualism in the Central Valley.

Name Email Role/Specialty Area Phone Number
Stephanie Alejandra Alarcon Marino salarcon92@mail.fresnostate.edu TA/Spanish 559.278.5112
Mireya Alcaraz Miranda mireyaalcaraz@mail.fresnostate.edu TA/Spanish 559.278.5112 
Jacinta Amaral mireyaalcaraz@mail.fresnostate.edu Emerita/Spanish   
Mario Alberto Arias Esquivel mario00arias@mail.fresnostate.edu TA/Spanish 559.278.5112 
Debbie Avila deavila@csufresno.edu DEPARTMENT CHAIR 559.278.6616 
Amila Becirbegovic abecirbegovic@mail.fresnostate.edu German/Ethnic Humanities  559.278.2708 
Sarah Bernthal sbernthal@csufresno.edu Lecturer/ Humanities and French   
Daniel Calleros Villarreal dcalleros@csufresno.edu   559.278.1108 
Elsa Castillo elsac@csufresno.edu Lecturer, Spanish Linguistics, Teaching Methodology, TA Coordinator  559.278.1159 
Jorge Ceballos Madrigal jorgeceballos@mail.fresnostate.edu TA/Spanish 559.278.5112 
Will Chapman wchapman@mail.fresnostate.edu  Adjunct instructor/ Oral History  559.278.3978 
Yolanda Doub ydoub@csufresno.edu Spanish  559.278.5736 
Curtis Eastin cjeastin@csufresno.edu Classics and Humanities   
Kristi Eastin keastin@csufresno.edu Classics and Humanities  559.278.2387 
Rodrigo A. Espinosa allstarod@mail.fresnostate.edu TA/Spanish 559.278.5112 
Keith Ford theabsolutmoose@mail.fresnostate.edu   559.278.2331 
Oscar Garibay-Contreras osgaribay@mail.fresnostate.edu Spanish lecturer   
Maria Dolores Gonzalez Mercado lolisg@mail.fresnostate.edu TA/Spanish 559.278.5112 
Cheri Halvorson chalvorson@csufresno.edu Classics and Humanities   
Maria Elvira Hernandez mehernandez@csufresno.edu Lecturer/Spanish  559.278.2426 
Celina Hernandez Garcia celinahg@csufresno.edu Spanish   
Rose Marie Kuhn rosemk@csufresno.edu     
Rafael Lemus rlemus@csufresno.edu Spanish  559.278.2088 
Loredana LoBianco llobianco@csufresno.edu   559.278.6437 
Alejandra Lopez allopez@csufresno.edu Spanish lecturer  559.278.2447 
Maria G. Madrigal Piceno mariagmadrigalp@mail.fresnostate.edu TA/Spanish 559.278.5112 
Sanjuana Lopez Hernandez sanjuanalopez@mail.fresnostate.edu Spanish   
Jesus Martinez jesusmartinez@csufresno.edu Spanish lecturer  559.278.2748 
Gloria Medina-Sancho gmedina@csufresno.edu Spanish, advisor for the Spanish major and minor  559.278.6963 
Giorgio Mobili gmobili@csufresno.edu Humanities, Spanish, Italian  559.278.6963 
Maria Dolores Morillo Lopez mdmorillo@csufresno.edu Spanish/4A and 4B Coordinator  559.278.6122 
Natalie Munoz nmunoz@csufresno.edu French  559.278.7039 
Edgardo Pacheco epacheco@mail.fresnostate.edu  Spanish  559.278.3978 
Aaron Poochigian apoochigian@csufresno.edu Latin, Ancient Greek  559.278.3978 
Amal Rida arida@csufresno.edu French   
Mona Rocha morocha@csufresno.edu Classics/Humanities   
Jaime Rodriguez-Matos jrodriguezmatos@csufresno.edu Spanish  559.278.6122 
Raquel Del Carmen Romero Zanjas romeroraquel@mail.fresnostate.edu TA/Spanish 559.278.5112 
Isolina Sands isands@csufresno.edu Spanish  559.278.2426 
Paula Sanmartin psanmartin@csufresno.edu Spanish, MA advisor and coordinator  559.278.8803 
Indira Sultanić isultanic@mail.fresnostate.edu Spanish/translation and interpreting  559.278.5736 
Bruce Thornton brucet@csufresno.edu Classics/Humanities  559.278.7037 
James Torrance jamesto@csufresno.edu German  559.278.0436 
Jhosselyn Vargas jhosse27@mail.fresnostate.edu TA/Spanish 559.278.5112 
Carol Zapata-Whelan czapata@csufresno.edu Spanish   
Yevgen Zhernovey yevgenz@csufresno.edu Lecturer/French   


Emeriti Faculty

* denotes deceased

  • John M. Barta (1968-1997)
  • Wayne S. Bowen (1964-1990)
  • Carmen P. Clough (1963-1983) *
  • Helen L. Dmitriew (1967-1992) *
  • Jose A. Elgorriaga (1962-1992) *
  • G. Ronald Freeman (1969-2000)
  • Maurice C. Gendron (1969-2006)
  • June M. Gill (1971-2004)
  • Victor Davis Hanson (1985-2004)
  • Paul F. Kinzel (1963-1992)
  • Leta J. Lewis (1963-1989)
  • M. Margarita Lopez-Urrutia (1973-1998)
  • Elemer Joseph Nagy (1962-1983) *
  • Ransom H. Poythress (1962-1982)
  • Alexander Pronin (1965-1992) *
  • David A. Ross (1968-2009)
  • Ignacio B. Santesteban (1971-2001)
  • Keith E. Sauer (1971-1998)
  • Adriana N. Slaniceanu (1969-2000)
  • Edith H. Stock-Roh (1969-1988)
  • Cosme M. Zaragoza (1984-2011)