Philosophy faculty at 2017 ConvocationDepartment of Philosophy Faculty and Staff

Name Email Role/Specialty Area Office Location Fall 2017 Office Hours
Sergio LaPorta slaporta@csufresno.edu Department Chair Music Building 102A Coming soon
Ruth Aparicio rutha@csufresno.edu Department Administrative Assistant MB 102   

Pedro Amaral

 pedroa@csufresno.edu Logic, Philosophy of Mind, Modern Philosophy MB 113  Coming soon

Mariana Anagnostopoulos

 marianaa@csufresno.edu Ancient Greek Philosophy, Ethics, Moral Psychology, Theory of Action MB 111  Coming soon

John Beversluis

jbeversluis@csufresno.edu    MB 110 Coming soon

Tina Fernandes Botts

 tbotts@csufresno.edu Philosophy of Law, Philosophy of Race, Feminist Philosophy, Ethics, Applied Ethics, Ethical Theory, Hermeneutics  MB 105 Coming soon

Carolyn Cusick

 ccusick@csufresno.edu Philosophy of Gender and Race, Epistemology, Social and Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Education MB 103  Coming soon

Andrew Fiala

 afiala@csufresno.edu   MB 114  Coming soon

Thomas Higgins 

 thiggins@csufresno.edu Contemporary Ethics and Cultural Theory MB 110  Coming soon

Veena Howard

 vehoward@csufresno.edu Asian Religious Traditions including Hinduism, Buddhism, Sikhism, Jainism MB 109  Coming soon

Sudarshan Kapoor

skapoor@csufresno.edu   MB 113  Coming soon

Vadim Keyser

  Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Biology, and Philosophy of Science Policy MB 107  Coming soon

Robert Maldonado

 robertma@csufresno.edu Religion, Hermeneutics, Feminism MB 112  Coming soon

James Rocha

 jamesr@csufresno.edu Ethics, Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Law, Philosophy of Race, Feminist Philosophy MB 101  Coming soon

Negin Tahvildary

 negin@csufresno.edu Law, Peace Studies, Middle East Studies MB 110  Coming soon
Terry Winant  terryw@csufresno.edu Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Language, Feminism MB 108  Coming soon

Emeritus Faculty

Karen Bell (1987)

  • Boston University A.B.; University of Kansas M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D.
  • Research Interests: Ancient Greek Philosophy, Philosophy of Law

Ann E. Berliner (1884-2015)

  • Goddard College B.A.; California State University, Sonoma M.A.; Graduate Theological Union Ph.D.
  • Research Interests: Indian Philosophy, Philosophy of Religion, Comparative Religion

Donald Blakeley (1989-2008)

  • California State University, Fresno B.A.; University of Hawaii M.A., Ph.D.
  • Research Interests: Comparative (Asian/Western), Ancient Greek and Roman, Philosophy of Religion, Chinese Philosophy

Hague Foster (1966-1998)

  • University of Chicago B.A., Ph.D.
  • Research Interests:  Social Philosophy, Political Philosophy, Marxism

Warren Kessler (1968-2007)

  • University of Wisconsin M.A., Ph.D.
  • Research Interests: Ethics, Social Philosophy, Political Philosophy 

Jack Pitt (1957-1997)

  • Research Interests: Marxism 

James Slinger (1969-2003)

  •  University of Wisconsin B.S., Ph.D.
  • Research Interests: Logic, Philosophy of Language, Epistemology

James Smith  (1959-1966; 1969-1991)

  •  Research Interests:  Ethics, Philosophy of Religion, Social Philosophy