Faculty Directory

 

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

A

Abramson, Shareen

faculty

Office: Education Building, Rm 436
Phone: (559) 278-1230
E-mail: shareena@csufresno.edu

Akhavan, Nancy

faculty

Office: Education Building, Rm443
Phone: (559) 278-0345
E-mail: nakhavan@csufresno.edu

Alamillo, Laura

faculty

Office: Education Building, Rm 269
Phone: (559) 278-0280
Email: lalamillo@csufresno.edu

DPELFS Graduate Group - Core

Areas of Expertise:  Bilingual education policy, theory and method; education of culturally and linguistically diverse students; second language acquisition theory and methods; Latina/o children's literature; language issues in education

Allen, Terry

Office: Education Building, Rm 350
Phone: (559) 278-0292
Email: terryallen417@comcast.net

Andrews, David

Office: Science 2 360
Phone: (559) 278-5174
Email: davidan@csufresno.edu

DPELFS Graduate Group - Core

Areas of Expertise:  Science education; applying and evaluating the constructivistic model of teaching learning and assessment in national K-16 science education reform projects and systemic initiatives

Arenz, Bernard

Office: Education Building, Rm 453
Phone: (559) 278-0037
Email: barenz@csufresno.edu

Top of Page

B

Basurto, Imelda

Office: Education Building, Rm263
Phone: (559) 278-0285
E-mail: ibasurto@csufresno.edu

Bathina, Jyothi

faculty

Office: Education Building, Rm267
Phone: (559) 278-0532
Email: jbathina@csufresno.edu
Website: literatevoices.com

Area of Expertise: Secondary Reading; Reaching and Teaching At Risk Youth; Critical and Functional Literacy.

Beare, Paul

faculty

Dean, Kremen School of Education and Human Development

Office: Education Building, Rm 210
Phone: (559) 278-0210
Email: pbeare@csufresno.edu
Website: Message from the Dean of Education

DPELFS Graduate Group – Affiliated

Areas of Expertise: Special education; emotional and behavioral disorders; applied behavior analysis; single subject research; special education law; supported employment.

Behrend, Jean

faculty

Coordinator, Partnership Program

Office: Education Building, Rm 231
Phone: (559) 278-0235
Email: jeanb@csufresno.edu

Benavides, Otto E.

Director, Instructional Technology and Resource Center and NASA Educator Resource Center

Office: Education Building, Rm 481
Phone: (559) 278-0377, (559) 278-0379
Email: ottob@csufresno.edu

Areas of Expertise: Integration of technology in the curriculum, technology planning, school technology administration, technology support administration, technological professional development for teachers and school administrators, photo and video production, media production, mobile technologies, video conferencing, social media, distance learning, international relations.

Bennett, Lisa

Lisa Bennett

Office: Education Building, Rm 265
Phone: (559) 278-0243
Email: lbennett@csufresno.edu

Benninga, Jacques S.

faculty

Chair, Department of Curriculum and Instruction (CI)
Director, Bonner Center for Character Education and Citizenship

Office: Education Building, Rm 250
Phone: (559) 278-0253
Email: jackb@csufresno.edu

Website: www.fresnostate.edu/bonnercenter

DPELFS Graduate Group – Core

Areas of Expertise: Curriculum and instruction; developmental psychology; character education.

Biacindo, Kathryn

Office: Education Building, Rm 250
Phone: (559) 278-0321
Email: kbiacindo@csufresno.edu

Areas of Expertise: Cultural and psychological foundations of education.

Bohlin, Carol Fry

faculty

Office: Education Building, Rm 234
Phone:(559)278-0237
Department Phone:(559)278-0240; Mail Stop: ED2
Fax:559-438-6284
Email: carolb@csufresno.edu

DPELFS Graduate Group – Core

Areas of Expertise: Mathematics education; professional development for math teachers; educational neuroscience; mathematics learning and teaching styles.

Education:
B.A. The University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
M.H.D.L. The University of North Carolina, Charlotte
Ph.D. The Ohio State University

Positions:
Professor, Mathematics Education

Mathematics and Science Teacher Initiative(MSTI)
Director (2007-Present)
California Association of Mathematics Teacher Educators (CAMTE)
President (2004-2006)
California Online Mathematics Education Times (COMET)
Editor (2000-Present)
CSU Mathematics Education Resource Center (CSU MERC)
Director (2000-Present)
NCTM News Bulletin: Assessment Issues Column
Editor (2003-2004)
San Joaquin Valley Mathematics Project (SJVMP)
Principal Investigator (1990-Present)
Strategies for Teacher Excellence Promoting Student Success (STEPSS)
Co-Principal Investigator and Coordinator, Master's Cohort:
K-8 Mathematics (1998-2005)

Bohlin, Roy M.

faculty

Co-Director, Teaching and Leading for Educational Needs with Technology (TALENT) Project
Coordinator, Certificate of Advanced Study in Educational Technology
Graduate Program Coordinator
Master of Arts in Education, Curriculum and Instruction Option

Office: Education Building, Rm 241
Phone: (559) 278-0245
Email: royb@csufresno.edu

DPELFS Graduate Group – Core

Areas of Expertise: Curriculum and instruction; technology integrated into curriculum; educational statistics; advanced instructional theories and strategies.

Boris, Virginia

faculty

Office: Education Building, Rm 350
Phone: (559) 278-0292
Email: vboris@csufresno.edu

DPELFS Graduate Group – Affiliated

Areas of Expertise: K-12 education administration; central office administration; curricular leadership; systems and quality applications for educational leadership; curriculum mangagement audits; classroom walk throughs; program evaluation; curriculum/instruction/assessment alignment; formative assessment; building instructional leaders; examining student work; standards-based instruction; leadership strategies to impact academic achievement; mastery learning.

Top of Page

C

Caldera, Cheryl

faculty

Director, California Reading & Literature Project

Office: Education Building, Rm 371
Phone: (559) 278-0429
Email: ccaldera@csufresno.edu

Chiero, Robin

faculty

Director, CalStateTEACH

Office: Education Building, Rm 210
Phone: (559) 278-0234
Email: robinc@csufresno.edu

Cummins, Jeffrey

Office: McKee Fisk 214
Phone: (559) 278-6693
Email: jcummins@csufresno.edu
Website: Jeffrey Cummins

DPELFS Graduate Group – Affiliated

Areas of Expertise: State politics and policy; presidency; public budgeting; public policy.

Top of Page

D E F

DeVoogd, Glenn

faculty

Chair, Department of Literacy, Early, Bilingual, and Special Education (LEBSE)

Office: Education Building, Rm250
Phone: (559) 278-0279
E-mail: gdevoogd@csufresno.edu
Curriculum Vita: Glenn DeVoogd

DPELFS Graduate Group - Core

Areas of Expertise: Critical literacy; literacy instruction; reading; writing; uses of technology; social studies; policy, research; assessment.

Firpo, Rich

faculty

Director of the Teacher Internship Program

Office: Education Building, Rm220B
Phone: (559) 278-0246
Email: rfirpo@csufresno.edu

Website: www.fresnostate.edu/internship

Areas of expertise: K-12 School Administration

Top of Page

G

Garcia, Juan C.

faculty

Director, Fresno Family Counseling Center

Office: Education Building, Rm431
Phone: (559) 278-0287
Email: juang@csufresno.edu

Gonzalez, Juan Carlos

faculty

Office: Education Building, Rm371
Phone: (559) 278-9001
Email: jcg@csufresno.edu

DPELFS Graduate Group – Core

Areas of Expertise: Critical Race Theory (CRT) and Latina/o Critical Theory (LatCrit) in Education; Visual Ethnography and Qualitative Research Methods; Educational Policy and History; Multicultural and Latino Educational Issues; Academic Socialization of Doctoral Students and Faculty

Goodyear, Don

Office: Education Building Rm350
Phone: (559) 278-0292
Email: donlg@cos.edu

Greenlaw, Corey

Office: Education Building, Rm350
Phone: (559) 278-0350
Email: cgreenlaw@gmail.com

Top of Page

H

Harris, Debra

Office: Psychology/Human Services Building, Rm146
Phone: (559) 278-2966
Email: dharris@csufresno.edu

DPELFS Graduate Group-Core

Areas of Expertise: Program evaluation; teaching via the internet; developmental disabilities; physical disabilities; health (specifically nutrition, physical activity, and food availability) issues; chemical dependency; treatment and evaluation.

Hart, Steven

faculty

Office: Education Building, Rm247
Phone: (559) 278-0319
E-mail: smhart@csufresno.edu

DPELFS Graduate Group - Affiliated

Areas of Expertise: Literacy education and teacher professional development; literacy education for diverse learners; critical literacy, service-learning, and educational equity and justice; school reform; afterschool literacy programs; school-wide literacy assessment plans.

Hauser, Linda

faculty

Office: Education Building, Rm 459
Phone: (559) 278-0362
Email: lhauser@csufresno.edu

DPELFS Graduate Group – Core

Areas of Expertise: Leadership Systems research; tranformational change; performance excellence; school leadership; organization development.

Hernandez, Ignacio

Ignacio Hernandez

Facilitator, Higher Education, Administration, and Leadership (HEAL)

Office: Education Building, Rm 369
Phone: (559) 278-0166
Email: ihernandez@csufresno.edu

Research interests and areas of expertise: Community college leadership, Latina/o leaders, community college transfer student experiences, educational access and equity for historically marginalized communities, survey research methods, and critical geographies.

Hernandez, Susana

Susana Hernandez

Office: Education Building, Rm 365
Phone: (559) 278-0320
Email: suhernandez@csufresno.edu

Research interests and areas of expertise: Latino educational opportunity, immigration and education, Hispanic Serving Institutions, critical policy analysis, critical qualitative inquiry

Hioco, Barbara

President, Reedley College

Office: Reedley College, 995 N. Reed Avenue, Reedley, CA 93611
Phone: (559) 638-3641
Email: barbara.hioco@reedleycollege.edu

DPELFS Graduate Group - Affiliated
Regional Partnership Advisory Board Member

Areas of Expertise:

Huerta, Teresa

faculty

Office: Education Building, Rm253
Phone: (559) 278-0364
E-mail: thuerta@csufresno.edu
Curriculum Vita: Teresa Huerta

Top of Page

I J K

Jamgochian, Elisa

faculty

Office: Education Building, Rm351
Phone: (559) 278-4011
Email: ejamgochian@csufresno.edu

Koobatian, Steven

Office: Education Building, Rm445
Phone: (559) 278-0316
E-mail: skoobatian@csufresno.edu

Top of Page

L

Lam, Sarah

faculty

Assistant to the Dean

Office: Education Building, Rm205
Phone: (559) 278-0205
Email: sarahl@csufresno.edu

Lee, Song

faculty

Office: Education Building, Rm451
Phone: (559) 278-0349
Email: malee@csufresno.edu

Lomeli, Jose

faculty

Office: Education Building, Rm251
Phone: (559) 278-0361
Email: josel@csufresno.edu

Areas of Expertise: Leadership Development for youth through Experiential Education; Group Dynamics for Staff Development; Instructional Methodology; Pre-Service Teacher Delivery Models; Migrant Education; Culturally Responsive Education.

Lucey, Christopher

faculty

Associate Director, Fresno Family Counseling Center

Office: Education Building, Rm437
Phone: (559) 278-0407
Email: clucey@csufresno.edu

Top of Page

M

Magdaleno, Ken

faculty

Chair, Department of Educational Research and Administration (ERA)

Office: Education Building, Rm369
Phone: (559) 278-0309
Email: kmagdaleno@csufresno.edu

DPELFS Graduate Group – Core

Areas of Expertise: Mentoring of Latina and Latino educational administrators; equity in educational administration; the effect of Latina and Latino educational leaders as role models; managing educational organizations; multi-cultural coaching; closing the achievement gap; instructional leadership; mentoring.

Marshall, James

faculty

Associate Dean, Kremen School of Education and Human Development
Director, Doctoral Program in Educational Leadership at Fresno State (DPELFS)

Office: Education Building, Rm205
Phone: (559) 278-0205
Email: jamesm@csufresno.edu

DPELFS Graduate Group – Core

Areas of Expertise: School curriculum reform; assessment; science education.

Mata, Susana C.

Office: Education Building, Rm457
Phone: (559) 278-0363
E-mail: susanam@csufresno.edu

Areas of Expertise: Curriculum and instruction, teacher education, sociology of education, teaching and learning in academically and linguistically diverse classrooms, sociology of the classroom, social organization of schools, and educational research and evaluation.

Mathis, Catherine

faculty

Office: Education Building, Rm021
Phone: (559) 278-0228
E-mail: cmathis@csufresno.edu

Monke, Robert H.

faculty

Office: Education Building, Rm100
Phone: (559) 278-0412
Email: robertmo@csufresno.edu
Website: teacherhonorwall.com

Moosoolian, Jane

faculty

Office: Education Building, Rm100
Phone: (559) 278-0115
Email: janem@csufresno.edu

Morillo, Janell

faculty

Office: Education Building, Rm350
Phone: (559) 278-0350
Email: janellt@csufresno.edu

Mullooly, James

Professor, Department of Anthropology

Office: Peters Building, Rm254
Phone: (559) 278-7574
E-mail: jmullooly@csufresno.edu
Website: James Mullooly

DPELFS Graduate Group – Core

Areas of Expertise: Qualitative methods; ethnography; applied Anthropology; ethnomethodology; social reproduction; culture theory; teaching English as a second/foreign language; middle school methods.

Top of Page

N O P

Nelson, Frederick

faculty

Office: Education Building, Rm257
Phone: (559) 278-0261
E-mail: fnelson@csufresno.edu

Newsome, Nancy

Office: Education Building, Rm 350
Phone: (559) 278-0292
Email: nancy.newsome@yahoo.com

Nyberg, Lisa

faculty

Multiple Subject Coordinator

Office: Education Building, Rm233
Phone: (559) 278-0236
Email: lnyberg@csufresno.edu

Areas of expertise would include: science education, inquiry science, technology, teacher education, multiple intelligences, communication, and classroom management.

Olson-Buchanan, Julie

Faculty, Chair, Department of Management

Office: Peters Building, Rm289
Phone: (559) 278-2851
Email: julie_olson@csufresno.edu

DPELFS Graduate Group – Core

Areas of Expertise: Human resource management; employee selection; work-life balance; conflict in organizations; fairness in management; virtual teams; technology in the workplace; compensation and reward systems.

Parks, Joe

Office: Education Building, Rm243
Phone: (559) 278-0260
Email: jparks@csufresno.edu

Pham, Kien

faculty

Office: Education Building, Rm245
Phone: (559) 278-0247
Email: kienp@csufresno.edu

Areas of Expertise: Math instruction for second language learners.

Pierce, Marinn

faculty

Office: Education Building, Rm347
Phone: (559) 278-0340
Email: lpierce@csufresno.edu

Pitt, Jenelle

faculty

Office: Education Building, Rm435
Phone: (559) 278-0304
Email: jepitt@csufresno.edu

Powell, Dana

faculty

Office: Education Building, Rm343
Phone: (559) 278-0288
Email: danac@csufresno.edu

Top of Page

Q R S

Quisenberry, Janine

faculty

Director, Professional Field Experience

Office: Education Building, Rm239
Phone: (559) 278-0257
Email: jquisenb@csufresno.edu

Raheem, Malik

faculty

Office: Education Building, Rm349
Phone: (559) 278-0326
E-mail: mraheem@csufresno.edu

Schlievert, Susan

faculty

Office: Education Building, Rm449
Phone: (559) 278-0348
Email: susansc@csufresno.edu

Shaeffer, Ruth

Office: Education Building, Rm350
Phone: (559) 278-0340
Email: rshaeffe@csufresno.edu

Shelton, Marilyn

faculty

Office: Education Building, Rm261
Phone: (559) 278-0268
E-mail: marilyns@csufresno.edu

Shen, Hong

faculty

Office: Education Building, Rm345
Phone: (559) 278-0289
Email: hshen@csufresno.edu

Smith, Dan

Office: Education Building, Rm441
Phone: (559) 278-0329
E-mail: dans@csufresno.edu

Top of Page

T U V

Tanner, David

faculty

Office: Education Building, Rm373
Phone: (559) 278-0254
Email: davidt@csufresno.edu

DPELFS Graduate Group – Core

Areas of Expertise: Educational psychology; statistics and measurement; educational research; quantitative and qualitative evaluation; assessing student achievement; evaluating classroom assessment instruments; evaluating the performance of teachers and teacher candidates.

Torgerson, Colleen

faculty

Office: Education Building, Rm255
Phone: (559) 278-0328
Email: colleent@csufresno.edu
Curriculum Vita: Colleen Torgerson

DPELFS Graduate Group – Core

Areas of Expertise: Special Education: mild/moderate disabilities, services for infants to students age 22, legal issues, IEP development - student-led IEPs; Leadership and Administration in Education: K-12 and higher education; Teacher Education; University Freshman Experience: learning communities

Tracz, Susan M.

faculty

Office: Education Building, Rm447
Phone: (559) 278-0347
Email: susant@csufresno.edu

DPELFS Graduate Group – Core

Areas of Expertise: Statistical methodology (general linear model issues, meta-analysis); educational reform (national teacher certification); counseling (interprofessional collaboration, dream/imagery techniques in counseling).

Ullrich, Walter

faculty

Coordinator, Master of Arts in Teaching Program

Office: Education Building, Rm455
Phone: (559) 278-0356
Email: wullrich@csufresno.edu

Unruh, Ronald P.

faculty

Office: Education Building, Rm353
Phone: (559) 278-0257
Email: ronu@csufresno.edu

DPELFS Graduate Group – Core

Areas of Expertise: Evaluation and assessment; bilingual education.

Valencia, Albert

faculty

Department Chair, Counselor Education and Rehabilitation (CER)

DPELFS Graduate Group - Affiliated

Office: Education Building, Rm350D
Phone: (559) 278-0283
Email: albertv@csufresno.edu

Vang, Anthony

faculty

Office: Education Building, Rm273
Phone: (559) 278-0284
E-mail: tvang@csufresno.edu

 

Top of Page

W X Y Z

Wandeler, Christian

Christian Wandeler

Office: Education Building, Rm 439
Phone: (559) 278-0355
Email: cwandeler@csufresno.edu

Weir, Kyle

faculty

Office: Education Building, Rm433
Phone: (559) 278-0169
Email: kweir@csufresno.edu

Wise, Donald

faculty

Coordinator, Education Administration Credential Programs

Office: Education Building, Rm355
Phone: (559) 278-0298
Email: dwise@csufresno.edu

DPELFS Graduate Group – Core

Areas of Expertise: Educational leadership; instructional supervision; educational reform and reform models; planning for higher achievement; school and district planning; changing school cultures.

Yun, Cathy

Cathy Yun

Office: Education Building, Rm 235
Phone: (559) 278-0238
Email: cyun@csufresno.edu

 

Top of Page