Fall 2014 Semester Calendar

Back to Index                                           Printer Friendly Version

 

(dates subject to change)

April 2014

Monday, April 21 - Friday, April 25
Fall 2014 Early Registration for continuing students and new post-baccalaureate students begins.

May 2014

Monday, May 19
Application periods begins for MASTER'S and BACHELOR'S DEGREES to be granted in August 2014

Monday, May 19
Summer Session classes begin  

Monday, May 26
MEMORIAL DAY - campus closed

June 2014

Monday, June 6
Last day to file for MASTER'S Degrees for August 2014

Wednesday, June 11- Monday, June 30
Fall 2014 "DOG DAYS" orientation sessions

Friday, June 13
LAST DAY TO:

  • Submit changes and clearances (incomplete grades, approval petitions, departmental approvals, transfer transcripts) required for graduation with a BACCALAUREATE DEGREE at the end of the Spring 2014 semester
  • File for BACCALAUREATE degrees for August 2014

July 2014

Wednesday, July 2 - Friday, July 18
Fall 2014 "DOG DAYS" orientation sessions

Friday, July 4
INDEPENDENCE DAY -campus closed

Friday, July 25
Tuition and other fees must be received on campus by 3:30 p.m. or paid on-line by midnight. Students will be cancelled for non-payment of fees. (Subject to change based on CSU Board of Trustees action)

Saturday, July 26 - Wednesday, July 30
The registration system will be unavailable for registration add/drop activity.

Thursday, July 31
The registration system will be reopen for registration add/drop activity; open registration begins.

August 2014

Friday, August 15
Tuition and other fees must be received on campus by 5:00 p.m. or paid on-line by midnight. Students will be cancelled for non-payment of fees. (Subject to change based on CSU Board of Trustees action)

Wednesday, August 20
Last day to submit a complete withdrawal for the Fall 2014 semester to receive 100% refund of tuition and other fees.

Thursday, August 21
FALL 2014 SEMESTER INSTRUCTION BEGINS

  • Refunds for complete withdrawal will be determined based on the date of the student's withdrawal on a pro-rated basis up through October 27, 2014
  • Application period begins for MASTER'S and BACHELOR'S DEGREE degrees to be granted in December 2014

Thursday, August 21 - Thursday, August 28
FRESNO STATE WELCOME WEEK

September 2014

Monday, September 1
LABOR DAY - campus closed

Thursday, September 4
LAST DAY TO:

  • Add a class without permission; last day to add with permission is September 18
  • Be eligible for a refund of tuition and other fees due to drop in units from full-time to part-time
  • Register for Credit by Examination (CBE)
  • Tuition and other fees will be determined by the number of units enrolled as of this date. Class schedule adjustments (add, drop, and/or swap) made after this date may result in a change in fee status from part-time to full-time.

Friday, September 5
Last day to file for MASTER'S degrees for December 2014

Thursday, September 18
CENSUS DATE

LAST DAY TO:

  • Add a class with permission
  • Drop a class online without permission and without a serious and compelling reason
    • Drops after this date must have a serious and compelling reason and will have a grade of "W" listed on official University transcript.
  • Change to/from CR/NC grading
  • Take examination for Credit by Examination
  • Change from credit to audit or audit to credit registration

Friday, September 19
Last day to file for BACCALAUREATE degrees for December 2014

Monday, September 22
Last day for graduate students to apply for Advancement to Candidacy this semester to be eligible for graduation in May 2015

Wednesday, September 22
ROSH HASHANAH

October 2014

Thursday, October 2
Last day for faculty to submit Credit by Examination grades

Friday, October 3- Saturday, October 4
YOM KIPPUR

Monday, October 20
Last day to file edited, committee-approved MASTER'S THESIS for December 2014 graduation.

Monday, October 27
Last day to submit a complete withdrawal and be eligible for a pro-rated refund of tuition and other fees. No refunds will be granted after this date.

November 2014

Monday, November 3
Registration for Spring 2015 begins

Tuesday, November 11
VETERANS DAY- campus closed  

Tuesday, November 18
Last day to drop classes for serious and compelling reason; only drop/withdrawal for circumstances beyond the student's control, will be considered after this date

Wednesday, November 26
THANKSGIVING RECESS - no classes, offices open

Thursday, November 27 - Friday, November 28
THANKSGIVING RECESS - campus closed

December 2014

Wednesday, December 10
LAST DAY OF INSTRUCTION

Last day TO DROP (individual course)/WITHDRAW (complete program) for circumstances beyond the student's control

Thursday, December 11 - Friday, December 12
Final exam preparation and faculty consultation days

Monday, December 15 - Thursday, December 18
SEMESTER FINAL EXAMINATIONS

Monday, December 22
FALL 2014 SEMESTER ENDS

LAST DAY TO:                                

  • Submit incomplete make-up work or request extension of time for incomplete grades from Fall 2013
  • Submit to the Division of Graduate Studies Office the departmental clearance paperwork on behalf of December 2014 MASTER'S DEGREE candidates (include a copy of the completed final report on incomplete or in-progress work, if needed for graduation)

Thursday, December 25 - Friday, January 11 
WINTER RECESS

Thursday, December 25 - Wednesday, December 31 
CAMPUS CLOSED  

Monday, December 29 
Deadline for faculty to enter Fall 2014 grades

January 2015

Thursday, January 1
New Year’s Day-campus closed

Friday, January 9
Last day faculty can make on-line grade changes for Fall 2014

Friday, January 30
Last day to submit changes and clearances (incomplete grades, approved petitions, department approvals, transfer transcripts) required for Fall 2014 graduation